Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid

de Thor Hanson (2021)

Synopsis

Moyenne

-

0 vote

-

A beloved natural historian explores how climate change is driving evolution

In?Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, biologist Thor Hanson tells the remarkable story of?how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards have grown larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists.

A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is natural history for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life.

1 édition pour ce livre

2021 Editions Basic Books

Anglaise Langue anglaise | 304 pages | Sortie : 28 septembre 2021 | ISBN : 9781541672420

Aucune chronique pour ce livre

En vous inscrivant à Livraddict, vous pourrez partager vos chroniques de blog dans cette zone ! M'inscrire !

0 commentaire

En vous inscrivant à Livraddict, vous pourrez commenter ce livre. M'inscrire !