Deathless, book 1: The Gilded Ones

de Namina Forna (2020)

Synopsis

Moyenne

15.4

5 votes

BON

The start of a bold and immersive West African-inspired, feminist fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice.

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs.

But on the day of the ceremony, her blood runs gold, the color of impurity--and Deka knows she will face a consequence worse than death.

Then a mysterious woman comes to her with a choice: stay in the village and submit to her fate, or leave to fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her. They are called alaki--near-immortals with rare gifts. And they are the only ones who can stop the empire's greatest threat.

Knowing the dangers that lie ahead yet yearning for acceptance, Deka decides to leave the only life she's ever known. But as she journeys to the capital to train for the biggest battle of her life, she will discover that the great walled city holds many surprises. Nothing and no one are quite what they seem to be--not even Deka herself.

2 éditions pour ce livre

Filtrer par type :

2020 Editions Usborne

Anglaise Langue anglaise | 414 pages | Sortie : 8 octobre 2020 | ISBN : 9781474959575

2020 Editions Delacorte Press

Anglaise Langue anglaise | 418 pages | Sortie : 26 mai 2020 | ISBN : 9781984848697

D'autres livres dans ce genre

2 chroniques de blogueurs

En vous inscrivant à Livraddict, vous pourrez partager vos chroniques de blog dans cette zone ! M'inscrire !

1 commentaire

  • Lilie H Le 15 Avril 2021 à 21:40
    Un début un peu lent mais la seconde partie est pleine d'action et de révélations. La thématique est intéressante, l'autrice montre du doigt le patriarcat et les violences faites aux femmes sous couvert de religion. Les personnages se font peu à peu leurs propres idées et rejettent les valeurs de la société dans laquelle ils ont grandit. C'est une belle morale.

En vous inscrivant à Livraddict, vous pourrez commenter ce livre. M'inscrire !